Plakidas Bridge or Kalogeriko
Plakidas bridge is spotted close to Kipi and Koukouli villages in the area of Central Zagori, Epirus region.
For years on end it served the residents of the two villages in their transportation and rural activities.
It stands out for its unique architecture, as it is one of the few three-stringer bridges that exist, so there is no wonder that it is one of the most photographed bridges in Zagori.
In the beginning the bridge was wooden, however with the contribution of Serafeim, the abbot of Kipi’s Monastery, it was reconstructed with stone.
Because of that, the bridge was named “Kalogeriko”, which means “of the abbot”. After 1865 it was repaired by Alexis Plakidas, to whom it owes its current name.
Position on the map